Academic Lifehacker

Icon

Tools and ideas to improve academic efficiency

Maple and other Windows outliners

Maple

I’ve been looking for a lightweight outliner program to handle my piece-meal thesis work. I discovered Maple, which seems to be what I was looking for, from this list of outliner programs for Windows.

It lets me organize my writing into manageable sections, then easily work on each once I have the sources at hand. Also, I can export the tree as a flat file in doc, txt, html, or rtf.

In my ideal world, it would have support for footnotes or endnotes, but I guess you can’t have everything.

Maple
By Crystal Office Systems
Free 30-day trial, $21.95 US to buy

Filed under: Computer, Files, Organization, Research, Software, Thesis, Tools, Windows, Writing

One Response

  1. Vic says:

    There’s a list of 63 outliners at mind-mapping.org (it’s not just mind-mappers). Most of those are desktop software, but Web 2.0 has produced some on-line outliners as well. As they’re browser based, you can get at them from anywhere with a web connection, and even collaborate with others on a single outline.

    – sproutliner.com is a basic on-line outliner that lets you share outlines
    – thinkfold.com is a collaborative on-line outlining application
    – loosestitch.com is similar

    Then there’s all the web-based mind map and concept map tools . . .

    Regards
    Vic
    http://www.mind-mapping.org
    The master list of mind mapping &
    information management software

Leave a Reply

