Academic Lifehacker

Icon

Tools and ideas to improve academic efficiency

24 Hour Buddies

24 hr
Photo by: oknovokght

Mike over at Getting Things Done in Academia suggests that we should all cultivate our 24-hour buddies.

He’s not advocating incredibly short-term friendships. No, he’s making the case for creating a group of academics (preferably with different specialties) who are willing to read and informally review each other’s papers on with a 24-hour turnaround. It sounds like a great idea to get speedy feedback and light a fire under yourself when necessary.

Cultivating your 24-hour buddies
[ from Getting Things Done in Academia ]

Filed under: Academia, Advice, Colleagues, Motivation, Research, Writing

3 Responses

  1. Geoff says:

    Hey, I’m Geoff from Gearfire productivity. I was wondering if you’d be interested in joining my “Student Productivity” feedburner network. I noticed that there is a GTD network, but I couldn’t find any student or academic-related networks, so I created one.

    Please contact me if you are interested,

    Geoff

  2. jrhale says:

    Don’t forget the outliner function in MS Word. Using this function you can have endnotes or footnotes

  3. Geoff R says:

    Hey, do you have a contact email address? I’d like to talk to you about something student productivity related, but I cannot find your contact form.

    If you can, please drop a line at my email above, I’d love to talk!

Leave a Reply

