Academic Lifehacker

Icon

Tools and ideas to improve academic efficiency

More Bibliographical Management Tools

After my last post, two helpful commenters suggested some further tools to consider for managing references.

Michael Dunn suggested JabRef, a bibliography reference manager that works with BibTeX format.

Rick suggested wikindx, a bibliographic and quotations/notes management system that can be used for either the single-user or for collaborative efforts.

While investigating these leads, I also came upon the Bibliophile Initiative, whose goal it is to “promote collaboration between developers and end-users of bibliographic databases.” They maintain a list of bibliographic database applications and utilities which I found to be a useful tool.

A big thank you to Michael and Rick for your help and suggestions.

Filed under: Academia, Bibliographies, Bibliography, Computer, Files, Online, Organization, Research, Software, Thesis, Tools, Web

4 Responses

  1. atom probe says:

    Zotero is in public beta. It is a plugin for Firefox 2.0 which imports, exports, and stores bibliographic data. It is quite good & can automatically import data from many sites. I use it in combination with refbase, an online literature database.

  2. Felix Riedel says:

    I think Zotero is a really good Firefox extension for managing bibliographic references, papers, websites, etc. for academic purposes.
    Unfortunately, it works only with Firefox 2.0 which is currently not avalaible as a stable release.

  3. Al Z says:

    My interest in blogging itself arose from the online Bibliography/research problem. I became interested in using blogs as a way of exploring some of my research interests in a different form. As I was working on my MS Thesis years back I realized my blog could be a useful “index card” -like system for doing research while in the library. It also occurred to me that the blog form itself involves the use of a citation like system usually in the form of url’s to other blogs or on-line news articles. In any case I’ll up to the ante on your dream of on-line bibliographic management (which I share). I want to have this sysem fully integrated with a blog like system such as wordpress. This not only to facilitate bibliographic management, but also to enhance the amount of **primary** information sources available in the blogsphere.

  4. David says:

    Ive been using Zotero for 4 years now and recently began using version 2.0 for my dissertation. This little piece of software is worth its weight in gold.

    I would be lost with out it and nothing comes close.

Leave a Reply

