Academic Lifehacker

Icon

Tools and ideas to improve academic efficiency

Windows alternatives for DEVONthink

Many academics who use Macs swear by DEVONthink for organizing their research and files. Over at AcademHack, there’s even an entire category devoted to academic uses for the program.

I was intrigued by the organizational abilities of this program, and mourned my Mac-lessness. However, there are some alternatives for us with PCs. I’ve listed a few of the most promising DEVONthink replacements by price:

EverNote (free)
MyInfo (free 28-day trial, then $50)
AskSam (free 30-day trial, then $150 and up)
Nota Bene (free 30-day trial, then $249 and up)

Any other ideas for DEVONthink alternatives for Windows?

Addendum: This seems to be a current topic! I just discovered this thread over at The Efficient Academic group, which may also lead to some good suggestions.

Filed under: Computer, Files, Mac, Organization, Research, Software, Tools, Windows

28 Responses

  1. [...] PC users, Gideon added this comment recommending OneNote, and Academic Lifehacker has a rundown of other [...]

    • Prof. George Purdy says:

      One valuable feature of DEVONthink is that it uses a table of synonyms when it does a search. So it would “know” that dog and canine were the same.

      Does anything written for Windows have this feature?

      I don’t want to buy a Mac, but I will if I have to.

      George

      • Bonnie says:

        I am late to the party and see you purchased a Mac. But for the sake of others, when I installed Evernote I opted to allow Google to search my notebooks. That allows me to take advantage of Google’s powerful and familiar search engine, including synonym table. This may be an option for OneNote as well.

  2. [...] thought that it could be a good centralized solution to DevonThink for those of us on Windows, with the added bonus of being available from any computer. Sort of like a personal Google [...]

  3. Michelle says:

    Google Notebook has some flaws in terms of organization, but if much of your research is coming off the web it’s an excellent way to keep “notes” on the bits of web sites you’re reading. You can highlight single paragraphs off a loooong web page and store them, along with your notes, and a link back to the original (or cached) page. And it’s available from any computer since it’s all linked to your Google account. And, of course, it’s free.

  4. [...] > Esiste qualcosa di simile per Windows? onestamente? non lo so. altri lo hanno chiesto qua: http://academiclifehacker.wordpress….or-devonthink/ prova a vedere i suggerimenti — http://www.venerandi.com « [...]

  5. [...] never used, and can’t because I don’t own a Mac.In the comments, someone posted a link to Windows alternatives, which is nice, but, like many people, I find myself working on different computers in different [...]

  6. Midas says:

    Although not really comparable with the apps mentioned, you should take a look at cross platform wikidPad

    http://wikidpad.sourceforge.net/

  7. Mipovia says:

    I used EverNote sometime ago, but it got ditched for Microsoft OneNote, for some reason I can’t remember. I believe it was that EverNote takes up a lot of memory and disk space, unlike MS OneNote.

  8. Shava Nerad says:

    inspiration.com doesn’t advertise as this sort of application, but I use it as such and it’s very inexpensive. It’s more of a mindmapping tool, but the outliner is excellent and links out to documents, urls,…

  9. [...] of their favourite programs. Mac users have an array of delightful programs for academic work (DEVONthink, I’m looking at you), but even us Windows users have some favourite standbys. Why make the [...]

  10. parezcoydigo says:

    Before I became a Mac and Devonthink user, I wrote my dissertation using Scholar’s Aid- http://www.scholarsaid.com -but that was a number of years ago, and I don’t know if it’s still in development. It offers many of the things I like about DT– hierarchical notetaking and some web integration. It also has a reference manager side that links notes directly to their sources. It was a good program. But, not good enough to go back to Wintel. I’ve written about my DT workflow at – http://parezcoydigo.wordpress.com/2008/12/18/posts-on-devonthink/

  11. Bob Johnson says:

    So I’m reading Steven Johnson’s Where Good Ideas come from, and I find now I can’t get Devonthink that he clearly loves dealy.

    Are the alternatives mentioned above truly comparable?

    • kberke says:

      I’m looking at DEVONthink for exactly the same reason–just finished Steven Johnson’s book. And I too am a PC user. Buying a MAC just to try this program doesn’t seem prudent. I’m hoping that Johnson’s book is popular enough that it leads to a PC equivalent.

      • Bob Johnson says:

        I bought a Mac for this program, but use it now only for video editing.

        I use one note from MS Office and it is fantastic. I tried Devon on the Mac and surrendered.

  12. I would love to add that if you do not actually have an insurance policy or maybe you do not participate in any group insurance, you will well benefit from seeking the assistance of a health broker. Self-employed or those with medical conditions usually seek the help of an health insurance brokerage service. Thanks for your text.

  13. There is a bundle to know about this. You made good points also.

  14. John Hammond says:

    +1 for MyInfo. I’ve used it before switching to Mac.

  15. Recommeneded websites…

    [...]Here are some of the sites we recommend for our visitors[...]……

  16. George Purdy says:

    I decided to buy a Mac, and I like it a lot.

  17. Blair Bishop says:

    I have OneNote and use it but it has limitations – mostly the linear “notebook” data storage metaphor and the fact that it does not paste the text exactly as it is in the original. The white space between paragraphs is missing, so you get a big lump of text all together, which is annoying.

    To simply capture or link to data – any data – I use Personal Brain as it is fast, easy, and more 3D in nature. You can link to almost anything online or on your hard drive. You can also publish your “brain’ online for mobile access.

  18. I think this post deserves a round of applause, come on fellow visitors, get those hands together! Great job.

  19. Adam says:

    MyINFO is the best one i guess. The interface is super cool and its just fun browsing through your system.

  20. Bob Johnson says:

    OneNote is a good program and I have now many sections to perhaps six notebooks. I have a mac and DevonThink, but could not ‘get’ it. DevonNote crossed the radar perhaps three weeks ago, and I think it a good middle ground. The magic of DevonNote is the hot key (mine is F6 – but you can make it what you wish) and the box on note that is begging for tags.

    Tagging. One note I was unable to tag, i.e. create new tags, on the fly. DevonNotes makes it easy. And the hot key lets you bring up a note taker, also on the fly. It automatically titles the note based on the initial sentence and the simple tagging is very helpful.

    I tried to reproduce this feature in OneNote. No luck.

    And the downside of DevonNote is it only works on ….

  21. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this website needs much more attention.

    I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the information!

  22. The capacities of 8, 12, roofing baltimore maryland 16, and 20
    quarts ensure you always have the right size pot for stews, soups, chili, and more.
    Hoffritz 4 Piece Nesting Aluminum Stockpot Set with Lids – This Hoffritz 4 Piece Nesting Aluminum Stockpot
    Set is perfect for preparing big family dinners, holiday meals, and large cookouts.
    The capacities of 8, 12, 16, and 20 quarts ensure you
    always have the right size pot for stews, soups, chili, and more.

  23. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about
    this, such as you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I believe that you simply can do with some p.c. to force the message house
    a bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog.

    A great read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

